• Mon. Sep 25th, 2023

Geisel Professor Receives Technologies Innovation Award


Jun 3, 2023
Geisel Professor Receives Technology Innovation Award

Randolph Noelle, a biotechnology entrepreneur and professor emeritus of microbiology and immunology, has received the Dartmouth Technologies Innovation and Commercialization Award.

Presented by the Office of Entrepreneurship and Technologies Transfer, the award recognizes men and women who by way of their inventive and entrepreneurial talents have created important contributions to Dartmouth and society.

Noelle received the award through the Magnuson Center for Entrepreneurship’s Dartmouth Entrepreneurs Forum on Might five. The semiannual plan requires spot in the spring in Hanover and in the fall in San Francisco.

A cellular and molecular immunologist, Noelle is the co-founder and vice chair of ImmuNext, which develops novel immunotherapies for autoimmune illness and cancer. He and his lab have created various discoveries that have implications for the therapy of these illnesses, and the intellectual home he has made has been licensed to biotech corporations by Dartmouth Technologies Transfer. His laboratory found the organic CD40 ligand, CD154, and the checkpoint regulator, VISTA (V-domain immunoglobulin suppressor of T cell activation).

Through a dinner connected with the Entrepreneurs Forum, Eric Fossum, vice provost for entrepreneurship and technologies transfer, lauded Noelle as an innovator who is committed to enhancing human wellness.

“Randy’s longstanding efforts as a scientist and entrepreneur created his choice as our award recipient an uncomplicated option,” Fossum mentioned.

The daylong forum attracted a lot more than 400 registrants and integrated 50 alumni contributors.

Noelle known as Dartmouth and the Geisel College of Medicine “a excellent community” in which to discover and advance his interests as each a researcher and an innovator.

“I appreciate all the assistance more than the years from pals and colleagues who have helped me make on my investigation to create genuine planet applications to strengthen human wellness,” he mentioned.

Earlier winners of the award include Laura Ray, the Myron Tribus Professor of Engineering Innovation and senior associate dean of faculty improvement at Thayer College of Engineering the late Michael Sporn, professor of pharmacology and toxicology and of medicine Tillman Gerngross, professor of engineering Joseph BelBruno, professor emeritus of chemistry Charles Hutchinson dean emeritus of Thayer and the late Stuart Trembly, Thayer ’83, an engineering professor at Thayer.

Leave a Reply